Seven named to CC Silver Anniversary Team

Ron Sermarini makes the Centennial Conference Silver Anniversary Team for football.
Ron Sermarini

LANCASTER, Pa. – The Centennial Conference (CC) is celebrating 25 years as one of the elite small college athletic conferences in the country with the announcement of its Silver Anniversary teams, highlighting the best of the best over our first quarter-century.

For inclusion on a Silver Anniversary team, a student must have a degree from one of the Conference institutions and met one of the following qualifications:
• 3-time or 4-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time Centennial Conference Player of the Year
• 1st team All-America AND 2-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time All-America (1st, 2nd or 3rd team)

For individual sports such as swimming and track and field, the accomplishments must have occurred in the same event.

Sixty-three players were named to the Silver Anniversary team in football.

Among those honorees was the Green Terror's Eric Frees '92, Mat Mathias '99, Ron Sermarini '00, Jamie "Boo" Harris '02, Jason Wingeart '02, Matt Wilchinski '03 and Joe Rollins '14.

Frees was a three-time first-team performer in 1989, 1990 and 1991 and was also named the CC Player of the Year in 1991. He also earned five All-America honors, including a 1990 first-team selection.

Mathias was first-team all-conference in 1997 and 1998 and an All-American in 1998.

Sermarini is the only three-time Offensive Player of the Year honoree in conference history, taking the nod in 1997, 1998 and 1999. He was also an All-America honorable mention in 1999 and three-time first-team all-conference selection.

Harris was CC Offensive Player of the Year in 2000 and 2001 in addition to being named first-team all-conference both years.

Wingeart was CC Defensive Player of the Year in 2001 and a two-time first-team performer. He also earned four All-America accolades, including as a first-teamer in 2001.

Wilchinski was a three-time first-team All-CC selection and was Defensive Player of the Year and an All-American in 2002.

Rollins was a three-time first-team selection, garnering the nod at running back in 2001, 2012 and 2013. He was also the CC Offensive Player of the Year and All-American in 2013.

The purpose of the Centennial Conference is to provide for athletic competition among institutions that share high academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Its full-time members include Bryn Mawr, Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, Haverford, McDaniel, Muhlenberg, Swarthmore, Ursinus and Washington Colleges, along with Johns Hopkins University.

The Conference was founded in 1981 as the Centennial Football Conference and began competition as an all-sports conference in the fall of 1993. The Conference crowns champions in 24 sports.