Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Keane, Schlesinger lead conference spring academic honors

(c) 2020 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
(c) 2020 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

LANCASTER, Pa. – Kevin Keane (Bethesda, Md./Walt Whitman), a senior on the McDaniel men's golf team, and Meg Schlesinger (Frederick, Md./Urbana), a senior on the women's golf team, were named the Centennial Conference (CC) Scholar-Athlete of the Year in their respective sports.

They were two of 38 Green Terror spring student-athletes named to the CC Spring Academic Honor Roll.

Keane, a business administration major, posted a 3.891 cumulative grade-point average through the end of the fall semester. He is the third McDaniel athlete to earn the honor twice in a career.

Schlesinger, a kinesiology/chemistry major, posted a 3.896 cumulative grade-point aveage through the end of the fall semester.

Because no all-conference teams were announced during the Spring 2020 season Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors were awarded in each sport to a member of the junior or senior class with the highest cumulative GPA who had earned All-CC honors at least once throughout their careers.

Keane was a first-team all-conference honoree in 2019 while Schlesinger earned first-team honors in 2018.

To be nominated for the honor roll, a student-athlete must be of sophomore standing or higher and have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.40. The honored Green Terror student-athletes are:


Senior T.J. McGuire (Blue Point, N.Y./Bayport-Blue Point), senior Nathan Miller (Edinburg, Va./Stonewall Jackson) and junior Matthew Purnell (Reisterstown, Md./Boys' Latin School of Maryland).

Men's Golf

Junior Chuck Csejka (Orange, Conn./Amity Regional) and senior Kevin Keane (Bethesda, Md./Walt Whitman).

Women's Golf

Sophomore Zoey Nichols (Princess Anne, Md./Washington Academy) and senior Meg Schlesinger (Frederick, Md./Urbana).

Men's Lacrosse

Junior Joey Conklin (Westminster, Md./Westminster), senior Jakob Katzen (Wilmington, Del./Wilmington Friends), senior Frank Kratovil (Stevensville, Md./Kent Island), junior Jackson Kratovil (Stevensville, Md./Kent Island), senior Devon Maranto (Dayton, Md./Loyola Blakefield), senior Carson Marshall (Brookeville, Md./Glenelg).

Women's Lacrosse

Senior Tori Arcilesi (Bel Air, Md./Harford Tech), junior Abby Blankenship (Urbanna, Va./Christchurch), sophomore Kaylen Buschhorn (The Hills, Texas/Lake Travis), sophomore Lily Kim (Frdericl, Md./Urbana), sophomore Hannah Miller (Ellicott City, Md./Marriotts Ridge), senior Kelly Novak (Millington, N.J./Watchung Hills), junior Haley Phillips (West Grove, Pa./Avon Grove), sophomore Katie Poch (New Egypt, N.J./New Egypt), sophomore Caroline Ramsey (Sinking Spring, Pa./Wilson) and senior Alyssa Swartz (Dillsburg, Pa./Northern).


Senior Paige Bleyer (Cambridge, Md./Cambridge South Dorchester), sophomore Megan Horsey (Elkton, Md./Bohemia Manor), junior Michaela Persinger (Emmitsburg, Md./Catoctin), senior Cassie Rickrode (Hanover, Pa./Delone Catholic) and senior Miranda Thompson (Columbia, Md./Atholton).

Men's Tennis

Senior Justin Arter (Waldorf, Md./North Point).

Men's Outdoor Track and Field

Junior Stephen Porembski (Baltimore, Md./Archbishop Curley) and sophomore Zachary Stango (Burtonsville, Md./Paint Branch).

Women's Outdoor Track and Field

Junior Bailey Chapman (Bel Air, Md./Patterson Mill), sophomore Rachel Dixon (Crofton, Md./Arundel), sophomore Maria Kropkowski (Forest Hill, Md./North Harford), sophomore Megan Mesick (Fredericksburg, Va./Chancellor), junior Julia Murphy (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) and junior Priscilla Owusu (Bowie, Md./Parkdale).

In all, 749 student-athletes from the CC's 11 member institutions were named to the 2020 Spring Academic Honor Roll.